The Department has charge of all matters relating to the promotion or preservation of the health, social security and social welfare of the people of Canada over which the Federal Parliament has jurisdiction. It administers the Acts listed in Sect. 4, p. 140, and is also responsible for: the administration of the National Health Program under which grants are made available to the provinces for the development and extension of health services; the federal aspects of emergency health and welfare services; health and safety in the peaceful uses of atomic energy and other sources of radiation affecting the population; the provision of health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos and to other elements of the population in the Yukon and Northwest Territories; the provision of assistance and consultative services to the provinces upon request on blindness control, child and maternal health, mental health, dental health, nursing, medical rehabilitation, nutrition and hospital design; the inspection and medical care of immigrants and seamen and the administration of marine hospitals; the supervision of public health facilities on railway, water and other forms of transportation; the enforcement of regulations of the International Joint Commission relating to public health, the promotion and conservation of the health of civil servants and other government employees; the collection, publication and distribution, subject to the provisions of the Statistics Act, of information relating to public health, improved sanitation and social and industrial conditions affecting the health of Canadians. It co-ordinates and assists international welfare activities in which Canada is engaged and administers a system of grants to the provinces for professional welfare training, welfare research and general welfare services.

National Library.—The National Library came formally into existence on Jan. 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1952, c. 330). It publishes Canadiana, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Division maintains the National Union Catalogue, which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. Its book collection is growing steadily and at the end of 1964 consisted of over 250,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Parole Board.—The establishment of the National Parole Board, which was formed in January 1959, is authorized by the Parole Act (SC 1958, c. 38) by which it is given absolute jurisdiction over all matters of parole. It is composed of a chairman and three members appointed by Order in Council for a ten-year period. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

**Department of National Revenue.**—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, gift tax, old age security tax, Part I of the Canada pension plan, and estate taxes for Canada and all provinces, except Quebec, through its 29 district taxation offices and its Taxation Data Centre.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to the Financial and Management Services the Department is divided into four branches: the Natural and Historic Resources Branch, which administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch, which is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interest in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration Branch, which is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories, and for Eskimo affairs; and the Resources Development Branch, which is responsible for the national resources areas of the Department's work as well as for certain other lands and mineral rights vested in the Crown in the right of Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Committees on Northern Development and Water Use Policy, act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in their respective fields. The Deputy Minister is Chairman of the Northern Canada Power Commission.